Review: Whispered Music (London Fairy Tales #2) by Rachel Van Dyken

Print Length: 300 pages
Publisher: Astraea Press (September 3, 2012)

From Scarred at a young age, Dominique Maksylov, Royal Prince of Russia, has lived a reclusive life. As a musical prodigy, his music has wide reach into the world, but few ever see his face. He never ventures into polite society, but when he dis-covers he is the only heir to the Earldom of Harriss, he goes to one ball. And that one ball, was enough to change the direction of his life forever.
But how could he possibly have known that other person— the other half of his whole—would not only need his help but threaten his very existence?

She didn’t know how hard it would be to love the broken.
Isabelle Hartwell’s mother just sold her to the Beast of Russia. He’s mean, tem-peramental, and the most virile, handsome man she has ever encountered. But he has a secret, one he’s willing to die for and he refuses to let anyone in. Will she be able to reach his heart before it’s too late?

Find out if love prevails in this regency retelling of how Beauty tamed the savage Beast…


My Rating: 3 stars out of 5

This is the second book in the London Fairy tale series (which honestly I'm horribly late in reading as they came out in 2012), so I do have to say that I feel like the author is writing much better now days. In fact, she is one of my favorite authors now so I'm glad I read her newer stories first.

As for this story in particular, this was another unfortunate case of a interesting premise that delivered unlikable characters. Dominique was often unnecessarily cruel, alternating between pushing his wife away and then accusing her of finding affection elsewhere. Not that she did, but I wouldn't have blamed her if she had. At the same time, Isabelle cows to him instead of standing up to him. Together it made for a very tiresome story. One step forward in the relationship and three steps backwards. 

Overall, I am sure this story will appeal to some readers. I would read more from this author. 


                                 Whispered Music
 is available from

Post a Comment