Welcome to red wine and books! Where an avid lover of all genres shares with you her opinion on some of the best (and not so great) stories she reads.

Tuesday, March 28, 2017

Review: The Night Mark Tiffany Reisz


Print Length: 224 pages
Publisher: Harlequin MIRA (January 31, 2017)

From Goodreads.com: She has nothing to live for in the present, but finds there's something worth dying for in the past…

From Tiffany Reisz, the international bestselling storyteller behind The Bourbon Thief and The Original Sinners series, comes an enthralling new novel about a woman swept away by the tides who awakens to find herself in 1921, reunited with the husband she's been mourning for four years. Fans of Kate Morton and Diana Gabaldon will fall in love with the mystery, romance and beauty of an isolated South Carolina lighthouse, where a power greater than love works its magic.


                                                         *******************

My Rating: 5 stars out of 5

Tiffany Reisz is an amazingly gifted author, so when I saw this book, I knew I had to have it. Thus far, I have eagerly devoured all that she has written, but I have to say hands down this is my favorite story of hers thus far. 

"Whoever first said it was better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all had neither loved nor ever lost."

There is no better way to sum up this tragically brilliant story than by using my favorite line from the story itself. Faye and Carrick were both deeply complex characters who both suffered more than anyone probably should have, so it was easy to fall in love with them, and want them to find a way to have a happily ever after despite the fact that they lived ninety-four years apart. 

However, this story for me, was less about suspending reality and more about grief, and how it can become like a wave, endlessly crashing down upon a person dragging them farther away each time. Faye definitely represented this, and I think there will be a lot of readers who will be able to identify with her in one way or another. Hopefully this story will allow anyone dealing with their own grief to find the peace and hope that Faye finds. 

Overall, I am sure this story will appeal to those who well written and thought provoking stories about true love overcoming even the most insurmountable obstacles. 

DISCLAIMER: I received a complimentary copy of this novel in exchange for my honest review. This has not affected my review in any way. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are 100% my own.


                                                         *******************

                                 The Night Mark 
is available from Amazon.com

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments

Contact Us

Name

Email *

Message *