Pages

Tuesday, October 20, 2015

Fanatics: A Brooklyn Crimes Novel by Richard Hilary Weber



Print Length: 162 pages
Publisher: Alibi (October 20, 2015)

From Goodreads.com: For fans of Kathy Reichs and Linda Fairstein, Richard Hilary Weber’s new Brooklyn Crimes short novel follows police detective Flo Ott as she crisscrosses the borough’s mean streets and lands in the crosshairs of a highly skilled assassin.

NYPD detective Flo Ott has rotten luck. First she’s put on bodyguard duty for U.S. Senator-elect Cecil King after a ultra-right-wing terror cell announces plans to assassinate him. Then she’s saddled with investigating the homicide of a hip-hop mogul. Ballz Busta was fatally rapped on his head outside his mistress’s Park Slope condo. The two jobs couldn’t be more different. Finding Busta’s killer takes Flo into the outrageous livin’ large margins of the Brooklyn music scene. Keeping Senator-elect King alive requires constant vigilance as well-trained assassins could strike anytime, anywhere. It’s only when these cases explosively collide that Flo realizes she’s finally caught a break.

What she doesn’t know is that she’s lit a fanatic’s fuse and now he has a new target: the woman cop with the nerve to try and stop his murderous schemes.


                                                  *******************

My Rating: 4 stars out of 5

This is the second story in this series that I have read, and to be honest, I enjoyed this one a lot more than I did the first one. 

In a lot of ways, they had the same feel (above any beyond having the same cast of main characters). The author presented this story in such a way that it had a very real feeling to it. They did a fantastic job of showcasing the less glamorized side of police work - the politics that have to be played, and the time spent away from loved ones while facing the very real threat of death on a daily basis.

I think one of my favorite aspects of this story was the duel plot-lines that were happening at once. On one hand you have the death of a celebrity (a well known rapper with a double life), and on the other you have the threat of a terrorist group assassinating the senator elect, and while these two things have little in common with one another, they share one vital piece. The same investigative team tasked with finding the murder of Ballz Busta is the same investigative team tasked with keeping the senator elect from being murdered. 

Filled with unexpected twists and turns, this story will have you glued to your seat. 


DISCLAIMER: I received a complimentary copy of this novel in exchange for my honest review. This has not affected my review in any way. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are 100% my own. 

********************

Fanatics: A Brooklyn Crimes Novel is available from Amazon.com

No comments:

Post a Comment